Whenever you feel that some content is not needed and you want to save it for later. Unpublishing is a better choice than deleting the page.
As mentioned in the Publish section you can switch the content to unpublish.
You can find the option to unpublish from:
Moderation sidebar: The status of the node will be shown. just update to unpublish.
Under each node, at the bottom of the page you can change the page workflow.