All users that can access the site have a defined role. Within each role, there are a set of permissions provided to each role.
The default roles that come preinstalled with Varbase are:
You'll also notice that there are 2 more roles when managing roles and permissions. The Anonymous user role and the Authenticated user role. These roles are provided by default from Drupal and cannot be edited/deleted.